Thursday, February 17, 2011

Martha T. Muse Prize

Nominations recently opened up for the Martha T. Muse Prize for Science and Policy in Antarctica. This honor is awarded to individuals who show clear potential for sustained and significant contributions that enhance our understanding of Antarctic issues and promote Antarctica’s preservation.

Last year’s winner, Helen Amanda Fricker, was recognized for her work with iceberg calving and basal melting and freezing, which has major global climate change implications. She is also known for her work with the hydrology of Antarctica’s subglacial lake systems. Steven Chown, the first prize-winner, was recognized for his research on the effects on Antarctica from humans, climate change and invasive species.

You can learn more about the prize here.

No comments: